What’s up people! This time I went to Penang for my cooking demo and guess what, one of my friend recommended me this place “Lean Gaik Hokkien Mee” HOHO! Hokkien Mee??!! What is Hokkein Mee in Kuala Lumpur? Everyone knows Hokkien Mee in Kuala Lumpur. It’s black and brown-iss a bit. It has pork fats and so on and so on. I was surprised when my friend described to me about the Hokkien Mee in Penang. I thought it was just another plane black noodle but it was not. Lean Gaik is the owner and she started of with a small stall and years later her business was good and moved in to a coffee shop. You want to know what i’m talking about? Check it out!

This place is pretty old but the food is still amazing! Oh, check out the signboard! I sponsored that “Signboard”. I…SPONSORED….THAT…….”SIGNBOARD”. Why did I do it? It is because they pay me to eat 68 bowls of different types of “Hokkien Mee”. I know I was crazy. After that, I made up my mind on the SPOT and I said to the owner “Thank you for you kindness by buying me 68 bowls of different “Hokkien Mee”. In return, I would like to sponsor you a signboard with “Just Ask Richie” on it.”

Hey, guys! I was just……. kidding…… No, I did not sponsor that signboard nor the 68 bowls of different types of “Hokkien Mee”. There were no such thing. I know it was lame and I’m sorry but the fact is my name is already on that thing for a long time. I really don’t know why. smiley face!

Let’s move on….

Here’s the menu of 3 different types of “Hokkien Mee” and 9 other dishes to go with. I ordered the. . . . . ah. . . “Hokkien Mee”. Just one! Which is actually we called it “Prawn Noodle” in Kuala Lumpur.

I don’t know why this picture is so SEXY! Maybe its the prawns. . . Anyway, it looks exactly the same like we have in Kuala Lumpur. It has eggs in it, slices of chicken, prawns, fried garlic and the soup. Well, it has a sweet taste in the soup and it’s not spicy. Just nice for those who really don’t like spicy prawn noodle.

This is a closer look at the fried garlic. “Just Kidding” It’s a close shot. .

Anyway, once again thank you guys! Stay tune for more.

Do check it out when you’re in Penang;

50, Lebuh Kurau 3, Chai Leng Park.

Tel: 012 484 1680

Operation Hours: 7am till 11pm

Closes Alternate Mondays